Posted in A moms opinion, Iraina

Iraina’s Arts and Craft Party

Iraina turned 8 and I feel like smacking myself across the head because I didn’t even make any effort to document her celebration. Guys! This is when I often feel the most “mommy guilt” when it comes to this beautiful child of ours. She is absolutely amazing and yet, because of when her birthday falls – it has often become our “just get it over and done with” part of the year.Well, not this year! (besides the fact that I didn’t blog about it until now – #facepalm) This past year, both Timothy and myself made the mental note to make sure that she was going to have exactly what her sister gets. This mainly means 110% effort from me with the planning part of it.

Yes, I hear you asking, “but don’t you do that anyway?” Yes and no – this is where the mommy guilt slaps me across the head. You see, with Aislyn, I have always approached her party with enough energy to fuel 2 ships. This would be because her party comes first around that time of year. This makes sense right? Well, because all of that “fuel” is used up, I immediately get drained by the end of year events that follow her party.

This leaves me with droplets to spare for Iraina’s party – which always falls in the middle of some sort of prize giving and also the same week that we’re meant to start pulling out Christmas decorations and traditions…….

I hope I’ve painted a clear picture here.

So, this time – I allocated the right amount of fuel to each child’s party. This done with the intention to give Iraina’s the most fuel possible.

She chose her theme – after many discussions about venue and budget, she settled on an “arts and craft” theme. That turned out to be an amazing and fun filled memory for her.

She planned everything and I was the executor of her plans. Here are a few snippets of what we pulled together for her and what the memory was made of. I can officially say that, besides the blog mommy guilt – we had a very happy 8 year old at the end of the day and a satisfied mommy. Now to plan the soon to be 3 year old……. ahhhh the joys.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mom to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all. I hope you enjoy reading how I journey with my troops through this thing we call life.

9 thoughts on “Iraina’s Arts and Craft Party

  1. I absolutely love this theme! Looked like so much fun!! I hear you about the fuel…. I have to plan 4 a year and by the time I get to the forth I really just want to get it over and done with. Thanks xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.