Posted in Shaveh

Comparison will eat you up

It’s Monday – whoop dee doo! Once again I find myself looking forward into my week and I’m slapping the side of my face asking myself – “what do I write about?” There is so much happening in our life right now, that to actually zone in and write about it, is proving to be extremely difficult – why? I hear you ask. Wouldn’t it be just brain-dead easy to document everything and share it with the world…… oh my dear friends – if only it were that simple.

Whenever I sit and think about what I want to write, I swim around in my head wondering what approach I want to take, the kind of people I’m talking to and what kind of people I want to attract…….

Now, an experienced blogger will tell you that it’s not about the audience and just about writing……. Yah – blah blah blah – still being a newbie, it’s hard to snap out of that “I want people to like me” bubble.

This is where I get to my point – I compare myself to the blogs that I like to read. Or even the “vlogs”. I absolutely love their approaches and what they’re up to and how they’re writing about their stuff. So, once I’ve had a good wallow and snuggle in my comparison cushion – my left hand rises and smacks me again (metaphorically, ok! I’m not slapping myself all the time. Shoo – I’d be domestically abusing myself if that were the case)

So, I “metaphorically” slap myself and remind myself that I’m unique and have my own journey to share. Comparison is a huge pimple, screaming to be squeezed. But instead the best thing is to ignore it and let it diffuse away. (as a disclaimer, I’m all for setting bench marks and trying to reach them, even if they’re set by others. Standards, as it were. But never wallow with the “is mine better than yours?” cushion – that will swallow you whole)

So, that’s what happens on Mondays – most Mondays anyway. I’d love to be able to say that I’m perfectly confident in my abilities and that nothing gets to me – but I’m human and pulling my security socks up everyday and strutting, isn’t as easy as I’d like to project.

So, Here’s to that Monday slap! The one that reminds me to Rock it! In my own way and as long as I’m not hurting anyone’s feelings or person – I don’t need to “need” them to care.

Be you!

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

