Posted in Being the wife, It's a God thing, Ministry life

Being in the Sweet Spot

Hello Friday! Boy, am I glad to see you! It’s been quite a week and even though it was a tough one – we’ve made it all the way through and have had a great finish. Last night was awesome people! If you haven’t figured out yet, then have a read about why I’m so amped.

Like I mentioned in my post, about playing again with my hubby – it’s been a whole 13 years since we played/ministered together. Just like the last time, it was the best experience ever to do something like this together. I bet every couple has something that they do together that makes them really click and for us it’s playing music and doing ministry together.

As a side note, I’ve come to realize that I’m going to have to blog a little more about our journey through to where we are now. I’ve told you how we met each other in a church, I will still tell you about how we got married there, ministering together there and then we had to make the hard decision to move on and follow what God’s called us to do – it hasn’t been the easiest road. But after four years of being away from that environment, made last night even more special.

You see, the conference we were ministering at took place at our old church, where we were pastors and I could liken the feeling to this: It felt like home, but like being in my parents’ home. You know like, my home is my own home – but there’s something about going to your parent’s place that just feels comfortable and you can still be you, even though you’ve grown up a lot and have your own home as well. You get what I’m saying right?

Anyway, I think that I’m going to have to spend the next few weeks sharing with you guys about our 17 year journey a little more.

Back to last night…..

I honestly cannot brag enough about how awesome my husband is. It’s like he flexes his spiritual muscles and all I want to do is swoon. There is nothing more attractive to me, than to see my man be who he is and teach people more about God and what He has for them. Yet, he’s humble and always seeking out more. (And he chose to love me – in my girly voice) What a guy!

So being with him last night and sitting under his leadership in that capacity again, was just the best thing. We live in a very competitive society, where everyone is trying to climb over the other – be it at work, in friendships or in marriage. Yet, if we just enjoyed serving each and being what we’re meant to be – I’m sure the world would be a much better place. (I’m talking to myself here) Being led by my husband isn’t the easiest thing, guys. I can’t just snap my fingers and pretend that I don’t “think” I know better! It’s sad but true. Often I feel like maybe if I tried it – I could do better. Excuse my arrogance or vulnerability, but it’s for real.

It’s taken me this long in our married life for me to learn and realize that the best and safest growing space for me, is in a place of obedience. Obedience to God in my spiritual life, Obedience to God in my marriage, Obedience to God in my relationships and Obedience to God in my parenting. That’s a lot of obedience, right?

It’s like a multi-vitamin of Obedience that I need to take everyday.

Why am I rambling on about this? You may ask. Because I bet you’ve had to deal with this in some way too. If not, then oh well – enjoy the read.

So after saying all of that, while playing and being led by him last night, I could honestly feel something come alive in me even more. It was like there was an excitement that I could actually feel in my body (just under the center of my rib cage in fact)

I don’t know what it was, and no I didn’t have heart burn (lol). But it was one of those feelings that I definitely want to continue having and experience with my hubby. Whether he felt the same way or not isn’t the point – what I know is that God’s timing is perfect and me stepping into this season of being by his side is absolutely mind blowing. Something fresh has just been exposed and I honestly can’t wait to do this more with him and see where God takes us together.

Have you ever had a sweet spot moment? Where you just knew the timing was just right? Please share it in the comments section, I’d love to learn from you and I’m sure others would too.

Here’s some pics from last night – they’re kinda horrible, but hey, when in the moment I just went for it 😀


Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

2 thoughts on “Being in the Sweet Spot

    1. You’ve given me another topic to blog about 😜 in a nutshell I find it’s a pyramid affect. God being at the top point of the pyramid, by submitting first to him, then it trickles down to the rest in the same way because submission starts with Him first and by by having that reference point for the others it becomes easier with the others because you’re not really submitting to them by to Him ultimately anyway.

      Like

Leave a Reply

