Posted in A moms opinion

Guys!! I thought I was Pregnant!

It’s the strangest feeling, I’m feeling, as I’m scrolling through various blogger titles. As I pass the ones about being pregnant of having a baby or anything around those kinds of topics, I am sighing the biggest sigh of relief. I say this, why? You may ask.

Well, as many of you know we have three wonderful children and as much as I can’t imagine life without them-I know that I know, that I know we are done having kids. (It’s in my write up of Jude’s arrival)  Which is quite a final statement to say because I was the newlywed that wanted 4 kids and all spaced close together and live in this utopian lifestyle of being angelically patient and loving my little brood of four. 

Well, let me tell you this-that I had been told many times by friends that, “when you know you’re done, you just know your family is complete”. I was like, “yeah right! Making them is fun, being pregnant was easier for me than most, there are so many different combinations of faces we could have (why stop), we make beautiful babies, the more I have the fuller my house will be……” and so on and so on. 

Well let me just say, that the moment…… and I mean – THE MOMENT my son popped out (literally popped out) I “knew!” We were complete. It was over and we’re not having more. 

Why am I telling you this? 

Here’s why. For the past 2 days, I thought I was pregnant! No joke!! And here’s the scary thing – my hubby went for his “snip snip” 7 months ago and so the coast is clear. Nooky nooky when ever we want right?? Well that’s how it’s been for the last few months. 

But guys, I felt like a 15 year old that thought she had got knocked up because she just didn’t take note of her cycle. (Let’s be clear, I’m pro waiting to get married and abstinence. Just throwing that in there) but it was the “feeling” I was having that was absolutely hilarious! 

Hilarious because honestly, I had already started to plan in my head how I was going to handle this. How I was going to try and cope with a toddler and adolescent AND be pregnant and homeschool. Where would the kid sleep and so on and so on. 

Hilarious because I was afraid that God had answered my kids prayers and not mine. Yup! I said it! Part of me feels God has favorites and those would be kids prayers first then adults 🤦🏽‍♀️ don’t judge me! It slips in my mind every so now and again.  Yes, laugh! Laugh hard! 

My kids have been praying over my womb for months now. (Even over Tim’s man bit) they understand the job that’s been done-but they reckon that God can work miracles and they WANT another brother. So excuse me for fearing their prayers were answered. 

So when my Red lady arrived, let me just say – that I had a small party in my head. There were streamers, balloons, cake (lots of cake) and a lot of shouting, because I’M NOT PREGNANT!!! And I’m soooooooo glad. 

As a disclaimer, please understand I am in no way disregarding the feelings of those that struggle to fall pregnant. But this was a very real moment for me and please see the humor in it rather than an ungrateful parent. 

Have you had these kinds of moments?

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

