Posted in A moms opinion, Family memories

Losing a child, has me thinking 

Tuesday and Wednesday haven’t been good folks. Don’t get me wrong, my family is fine and everything went smoothly, but the days have been clouded (and still are) with the knowledge that one of the ladies in our homeschooling community lost her son tragically to swine flu. It was completely insane and hard to process that a kid, the same age as my oldest child, is just gone. Like that…… poof! 
Now I am of the belief that he is safe in the arms of Jesus because he understood and had made the decision for himself to choose that belief as well. 

But it doesn’t change the fact that a whole destiny is gone. 

I went through these past two days watching each of my children and soaking up every moment and being completely grateful for our health, our lives together, that we still walk our earthly life together and that I’m a part of theirs. 

I can not even begin to imagine what my friend is feeling. It’s probably the worst kind of loss, to lose a child that you’ve had the pleasure of knowing. 

Talking about what they’d become one day, if they want to get married, where they want to go, what they want to see and the things that make them scared or happy. There’s so much wrapped up in their little lives that’s just bursting everyday with discovery. 

To have that taken away… must be the most heart wrenching experience unimaginable. 

So with that cloud over my mind over these past 2 days, it’s amazing how the little things just matter that much more.

As much as I think my son should be feeding himself by now, I’m like-why not? If he climbs into my lap for 75th time after jumping down 74times, irritation has left the building. 

When my girls sing silly song about kissing boys or burps and farts, at the top of the lungs. Should I silence them or just enjoy the fact that my children are with me and making noise together. 

Yes there will continue to be times for discipline and stopping them from being complete idiots-and I’ll probably lose my cool about it, again. But it’s been days like these that get me to wallow in the calamity of childish behaviour that is to be cherished and enjoyed. 

Even if I don’t ever lose my children tragically, they do grow up and won’t always be singing at the top of their lungs or my son won’t be completely fascinated by his fart noises. Now is now, and it is to be cherished. So hug your special little someone and enjoy them, because life is far too short to waste it on mediocre irritations. 

Have you lost a special little person? What would your advice be to me as a parent? I would really welcome your experience and learn from you and I’m really sorry for your loss. 

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

One thought on “Losing a child, has me thinking 

Leave a Reply

