Posted in My Crafts and DIY me, Shaveh

Me and my Crochet


I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before – but I really enjoy doing crochet. I know it’s a granny thing to do, but I absolutely love it. And when winter rolls in, I go absolutely bonkers for wool and hooks. Anyway, I’ve found that it really helps with gifts and special traditions that have become really personal – not only to me but to the receiver as well.

I remember when I first started – Aislyn was about 2 years old and I decided that I would make a blanket for her that would be a gift I’d continue giving her over the coming years. So I made her one that was just right for her size at the time. I then extended it every year with colours she chose. When Iraina turned 2, I did the same thing. I didn’t realize how quickly the blankets would grow so I stopped after 2 years of extending.

Here’s Aislyn’s one just before I finished it with a navy border. Iraina’s in with her in bed, so I’ll take a pic another time.

IMG_1300

Now, because I didn’t have any projects to work on, I got itchy fingers and decided to take part of their blankets apart and redesign them. (best decision I made because they were looking a little haggard) The itchy fingers continued after that and so I tried a few Pinterest things like arm knitting, snoods and shoes. It’s been great for mother’s day gifts and birthday gifts.

Then Jude came along and I realized that I couldn’t make him the girly pattern that I had made for the girls – so I tried something new. Here begins the “Feder baby gift” tradition.

IMG_3660

Here’s the first “Feder Baby Blanket”

IMG_3944

So after making my second ‘Feder baby blanket’ as a gift about a week ago,

IMG_3940

I realized that I need to put these into my blog. There’s a crafty part of me that I think needs to be documented. So, here are a few pics of the various things I’ve made over the years. I’m hoping to really challenge myself and make a fully fitted – cream coloured, cotton dress. (a friend really wants one, but they’re horribly expensive in the stores – so I thought it’s bucket list item to try out)

Here are my creations so far. Hope you like them. Let me know what you think.

I made this one for my girls old swimming coach as a parting gift, with the club acronym on it. Tygerberg Aquatics. My Aislyn is still in the club, but with a different coach. It was hard to leave her so we decided to leave her with something that would remind her of us. 😀

IMG_3945

I made this one as a gift for a friend with organic cotton that feels really soft. It’s a tube scarf that sits like a snood. I kinda want one for myself.

IMG_3938

 

 

 

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

2 thoughts on “Me and my Crochet

Leave a Reply

