Posted in A moms opinion, jude, Just for Jude

Jude in June 2017

IMG_3309

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but I think I really like my kids. Every one knows that we naturally love our kids, but liking them doesn’t always comes easy. At the moment, I really do like them. Today I want to highlight my little gentleman in training. He is absolutely the cutest thing. Many that know him will agree with me. He has a way of asking for something (even though you’ve said no, like 60 times) that just melts your heart and makes you just want to say, “ok”.

I’m slowly growing my resistance to it – but when he does it to the inexperienced, he more than likely will get his way. It’s a terrible thing to admit as a parent, but once you’ve had little hands gently grab your face and have the words whispered, “Peeeesth”. With the head tilt, as a cherry on the cake – how can you resist. What normally happens is that you just start to laugh because you can’t believe it’s happening and at the same time – he’s so darn cute! He did this to my Dad a few weekends ago and he had the exact same reaction. Even though I was there to help him say no, my Dad almost gave in because of the cute factor.

Anyway, besides the cute factor that we are going through at the moment – there’s the amazing unfolding of his likes and dislikes. I haven’t introduced him to any super hero types yet – I’m still wanting my baby to stay a little bit of a baby. So we have Ice Age on the play list continuously with the dinosaurs. The boy enjoys him some dinosaurs. There’s also the Barney stage (I’m kind of forcing it on him to improve his speech – but because of the re direct to Ice Age…… it’s going a bit slower than expected)

Animals are his thing as well. So I have made an effort to get library books that have animals in them to help him count and understand a story. I’m really proud of him because I honestly think that for a little boy to sit still for longer than 5 minutes and concentrate on a story is a huge thing. He sits for TV (obviously) but when it comes to a task – he is starting to follow through and enjoy the interaction of the images and my voices and animations. It’s really a wonderful stage to be with him.

Don’t get me wrong, he’s in full blown tantrum mode and we are using our various means of discipline depending on the situation. It’s really tiring as well. There’s a phrase that a friend shared with me when I was in the first stages with Aislyn. He said, “God made them cute so that you don’t kill them”. Now, considering all the child killings lately – I’m not making light of those situations – but there are some really crazy things that kids do that get your blood to boil and it’s up to us parents to pull back and teach. It’s a real bonus that he’s cute because it does make the pulling back so much easier.

It’s not easy being a parent – but it’s so worth it.

Here’s why. When we named Jude – we really loved the meaning and wanted it for him because it’s who we feel he is to become. Jude means, “praise” and we wanted him to be a man that lifts people up and also worshipped God with all of his being. Given that he has been born into a musical family, we wanted this for him but at the same time – didn’t want to force him into the mould of his name sake. So like the girls, we just let him be his own person and let him choose his likes.

Since he could walk, he’s always been drawn to musical instruments and what they do. But lately it’s been the cutest thing to watch him do things that are absolutely an expression of his little personality. You can’t make this stuff up. We just absolutely love this little guy. This is Jude in June.

IMG_3577IMG_3501

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

