Posted in A moms opinion

Hangry Mommy’s resolution to a bad day

While I wait for my video edit to render (video editor jargon for “smooth itself out”), I am holding my head up by it’s last thread and ignoring the rumblings of my tummy. It’s late and I’m between thoughts of binging on whatever I can find in our child friendly cupboards and fridge or just pushing through and G.I. Joe’ing my way through the next 20-30 minutes.

Many of you probably relate. Working late at night makes you “junk food” hungry, eye ball aching tired and on the brink of making bad decision you’ll regret in the morning. It’s hard to be a good steward of so many things. There just isn’t enough time in the day for everything to fit perfectly. So I cram it in, in the evening……

The morning always greets me with every possibility of an amazing day. Then…… somebody finished the milk, or sugar = morning beverage spoiled. Breakfast just doesn’t seem to happen = enter “Hangry mommy”. “Hangry mommy” grabs whatever there is on the go between laundry, juice cups, muddy footprints, school work, getting dressed, fixing the house (barely) and many other mundane things that are in my day.

By the time 11:30 hits, “Hangry mommy” realizes that after shouting 65 hundred times about the same thing – hey! Maybe let’s eat something properly? Oh but we tryyyyyyyy…… theeeeeen a poo nappy hits and a crayon fest on the wall of our passage. All the while trying to fix the mess, a lego bonanza has crawled it’s way out of the kids room and DARN IT!!!! I don’t have shoes on! Fighting back infinite rage, and bad language. I retreat. I break away. Because as sure as the weather – this puppy might blow like an atomic bomb and leave devastation in her wake.

Let’s just leave her there shall we.

It’s now, at 11:56pm that I look back and realize that food is important to me. I need it to make the “perfect day” happen. It has to be a priority in the healthiest way.

So, let’s try again tomorrow shall we. I will wake up, have my beverage the way that I like it (because I have stocked the necessary condiments to a morning recharge). Accompany said beverage with some form of sustenance and hopefully,

no – hear me,

really – hopefully, have a better day than the one I had today.

Here’s to waking up on the right side of the bed after a late night, again. Cheers to all of the moms. Can I get a fist bump – what, what! Hangry Mom – OUT! #micdrop

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

