Posted in Being the wife, Timothy

Monday = Hubby in hospital 

Today, my hubby goes in for two procedures to be done in hospital. I honestly feel like I go kind of numb when I have to deal with any of my family members being ill. But I really kick into auto pilot when it’s Tim. Paper work needs to be sorted, medical aid needs to be aligned (thank goodness we have it, it would have been even more overwhelming without it – I applaud those that cope without it and brave the queues and financial implications without it). Kids need to be taken care of, I can’t lug them to the hospital with us and try and maintain my sanity while being supportive to Tim. 

Then there’s the ability to try and maintain some sort of normal routine for the kids while he has his procedures done. School and extra murals still need to happen and bed side visits once all is done. It really clicks up a gear and yet I’m way better off than most because I at least have family around that I can lean on. Props to the single moms, and the families living far from those they truly know and trust – you are the true heroes. 

But I must admit that when days like this come along I feel the need to be busy so that I don’t let my mind wander and wallow in negativity or worry. I’m saying this all because I know every wife has thought about it at least once when something major or minor happens to their hubby. It’s the “what ifs” that TV has left us with. I watch way too many hospital dramas and I have to stop my head from going to the horrible teary scenes that hit the viewer from left field. 

Anyway, with that being said – his procedures aren’t hectic – he has a Gastroscopy first and then an Umbilical Hernia that needs to be relieved and it all sounds really simple. So until tomorrow morning, when I hopefully post happy hospital pics and a husband that’s grinning because he can eat real food again and not just soft, soupy things – poor guy. Have a great Monday! 

Oh, but wait a sec – How do you handle it when any of your family aren’t well? If you have coping methods to the practical side of these kind of days, please share them – I’d love to learn from you guys.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

6 thoughts on “Monday = Hubby in hospital 

  1. My tip would be to ask a friend or family member to help out where they can. I tend to take everything upon myself but sometimes all we have to do is ask someone else to lend a hand.
    Strongs Mom!

  2. Good luck! Last year when my husband was in hospital for 10 days I had to find friends for babysitting. But we survived somehow.

    1. That’s amazing! 10 days is a long time. I’m so glad his is just an over night thing – I don’t think I would have managed the whole “no kids allowed” thing. Unfortunately this hospital has that policy.

Leave a Reply

