Posted in A moms opinion

#RockingMotherhood – putting the mirror up & having a good look 


This last school holiday week has been insane! I can’t even explain to you how much I have messed up, forgotten and apologized. It’s been unnerving and I felt like I was coming undone. Thus the pic-Jude crying, me tired 🤦🏽‍♀️. It was completely unlike me and the situations weren’t even that hectic, but it was still enough to leave me sitting in a pool of self pity, with cups of tea trying to pull myself towards myself. It got so bad that on Thursday evening, my sweet husband (who had been working his butt off as well) gave me a big hug and just said, “you need a day off love”. (Have I mentioned how great this guy is) so Friday morning hits and…….

You will not understand how excited I was to have my very first blog referral. Guys! It couldn’t have come at a better time. You can not believe how much I jumped up and down in my bathroom when I was reading Shante’s blog (I read as I’m getting ready for the day) and then saw my name in her work! I was honestly like, what?! This is beyond awesome and then what’s even more awesome is that we go to the same church, so as soon as I was able to  grab a moment I gave her a big hug and thanked her for mentioning me on her blog – Rose and Thorns. Have a browse and enjoy her writing. 

Anyway, she mentioned me in an article a few of us mommy bloggers are doing called, Rocking Motherhood. What a title, right? It can be looked at in two different ways. Hands in the air, tongue out, one eye winked, peace fingers – rocking motherhood. Or, in the corner on the floor, hugging my knees on my bottom swaying back and forth – rocking motherhood. Either way, it’s the reality of our worlds as mothers. 

I thought I would take a different approach with my post, instead of just self observation – I’ve asked my husband and my oldest child, Aislyn to contribute to this #rockingmotherhood thing for me. (This way I kill two birds with one stone by getting words of encouragement – hopefully – and the 10 points I need to show how I’m rocking this thing)

Tim’s response

I put my kids first – I see to their well being, safety and needs way above my own. (I almost had a self pity moment because I’m supposed to put him first – but I took it as a learning opportunity)

I’m always thinking ahead – I’m not just trying to wing it. I read up, I organize and plan ahead for possible miss steps with raising our kids and planning our lives. (I do this so that if anything does run a muck, then we have some sort of plan to go with and aren’t caught off guard. Well at least our chances are slimmer)

I’m good at Disciplining – I discipline my kids lovingly. There’s a balance between hard core and gentle approaches to growing their little lives. (I’m kinda proud of this one)

Aislyn’s response

I’m Kind – I didn’t quite know what she meant by this one, but I’ll take it. I honestly think I’m a dragon lady half of the time.

I’m Generous – she says I love all three of them equally. I’m so glad she knows this and what a word to describe the way I love them, right?

I’m a Good teacher – I make sure they understand when I’m teaching them something before I move ahead with the next thing. 

My observations

I’m strong – I say this because there are days when I honestly feel like I’m going to fall asleep at the wheel but I find the inner strength to keep going.

I’m supportive – this as a support to my husband first, then my children.  He knows that I’ll be there for him wherever he goes and I’ll be his ear to listen when he’s done with his day. My kids also know that I’ll always be there, unless they need the gentle nudge to try something new. 

I’m realistic about my capacity – I can say no to protect my family and myself. There are times when I get this wrong but I do do it and it has helped us a whole lot when used at the right time. 

I’m committed – this walk of being a wife/mom isn’t an easy one and boy, wouldn’t it be lovely to just shelve it once in a while to be “free”. As much as this thought has popped up, I am fully and 100% in on this marriage/parenting thing. 

I try to put God first – I say “try” because I’m human and I sometimes honestly respond in my humanness before chatting to Him first. Ever growing and ever consulting-but putting Him first either way.

I know this was more than 10 things and there are probably more because I didn’t even ask my second daughter, Iraina and that would be interesting – Jude is still only speaking in 2 syllables so he wouldn’t have much to say. 

Now that I’ve taken the time to share these thoughts please click over to these mommy bloggers and have a good read – they’re great and have amazing stories to share. I’m new on the scene but have really enjoyed their writing and life stories.

Charlene – High Heels and Fairy tales

Luchae – My Spreadsheet Brain

Laura-Kim Le Roux – Harrassed Mom
If I tagged you and you’re up for a bit of a challenge to go with the tag, I’d love to see why you think you are a great Mom.

Here’s the only three rules
Thank the blogger that tagged you and link to their blog.
List 10 things you believe make you a good mother (this is just a guideline. It can be more or less than 10.)

Tag 3 – 5 bloggers to join in the #RockingMotherhood Tag.

Happy reading and tagging 😘

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

