Posted in Family memories, In our home, Time with Dad, Timothy

Behind the Ministry Family – What people don’t see

If you’re the kind of person that goes to any kind of church, I’m sure you’ve observed “the guys at the front” or the ones that are on the stage at some point or another. I remember I used to think that those families just looked like they had it all together. Their children were always so courteous and stayed solemnly in place without complaint and the wives were always seemed to be perfectly patient and caring.

Ok, so this is when you laugh, because Tim and I slowly progressed to being in that kind of a position and the closer I got the more I realized – Hey! These people are just as normal as I am and the kids aren’t as subdued as I once perceived. I must admit that as we moved closer, I had always put this unnecessary cloud of pressure on myself thinking that I had to fit into that box. I was so glad when God revealed to me that that was not expected of me at all. I could be me and my family didn’t have to be perfect.

That being said, the responsibilities increase and when the hours started ranging from 7am – 10pm I had to come to a place of understanding that when the gold moments happened, they were to be treasured and never taken for granted. You know, when you’re in ministry or leading a bunch of people that have “needs” (be it at work or anywhere really) – there is a fine line between seeing to the needs of others and making sure that, as a family, we don’t break.

This, as you can imagine, made the decision to homeschool a lot easier. We had to make the time for the golden moments. An average family gets to sit at the dinner table with everyone present and talk over the day – ours, on average, has one parent present to discuss the events of the day. I have come to realize that we can not complain about this way of living and that as much as many close to us think that there may not be enough balanced time given – what they don’t see is that there are stolen moments together that top up any imbalance observed.

I recently found a pic of Tim doing exactly this – we treasure our children and are trying to impart to them in the best way we know how. In this pic he’s doing this

IMG_9137

It was a lucky shot, a quick capture on my part – but this is what people don’t see. The small moments together that can’t be replaced and yet are filled with more nuggets of gold than we can ever hope to replicate.

Here’s to hardworking parents, and finding the golden nuggets in our days with our kids.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

