Posted in In our home, Shaveh, Timothy

Post Holiday blues

Ok, so I know it’s Monday and like 85% of the average South African family has taken the day off because of the public holiday tomorrow, but as a family we fall into that 15% that are back at work and doing our normal routine (well as normal as a flexible routine can be – especially given that extra murals are also on hold) anyway, so – you know that feeling you feel at the end of the weekend, as Monday is peeking it’s eyes over the horizon at you? Well, for the last two days I’ve been feeling that horrible sense of trying to squeeze every ounce of “chill” our of my days before we get back into the grind of things.

Ugh! Why does it have to be like this? Why can’t I just take a 10 rand note and bury in the back yard and harvest like a 1000 rand the next day? wouldn’t that be life to live, right? (yup, and as I’m writing this the disciplined part of me is shouting across my mind saying, “And what would be the point of that? there’s no greater feeling than the reward of good hard work! pull yourself together and get into gear!”) ya, ya, ya – ok, so now that I’ve given myself a good talking to, it’s time to mentally and physically get into gear.

It’s amazing that every time I do this, I feel the urge to clean something or sort something out in my home. So, coincidentally Tim came to me yesterday and said he’s wanting to move back into the house and set up his base office in our school room……. so, after a good sulk about losing my beloved school room and a little bit of a fuss about how to set his space up (note, I am not a morning person and he chatted to me first thing in the morning so my self control was still in bed) – I pulled myself together, changed my attitude, put my big girl panties on and we got ta working on how to incorporate him back into our living space.

Now, if you’ve watched our Vlog about Homeschoolers having friends and the Q&A session with the girls, you’ll remember the space fairly well. That, my friends, is now a distant memory and this is what it looks like now.


Tim and I are now sharing the office space and the kids are going to be in another part of our home. We start that move today and I’ll post pics on how that goes. But so far, so good and I actually like the fact that Tim is just one partition away from me. I think that’s what I enjoy about our family dynamic – when Tim makes a move, we move with him and adjust to what’s best for that season.

It isn’t permanent and it’s actually amazing to see that often when we make these kinds of adjustments – they were the perfect ones for that period in all of our lives.

Do you find it hard to adjust to change? or does it come really easy? I’d love to read about your experience to see another point of view so that we can learn from each other.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

One thought on “Post Holiday blues

Leave a Reply

