Posted in A moms opinion, Being the wife

When Dad gets home: getting back to normal

Yaaaaaay!! Tim’s back home. Ok, so this is only way I can describe the feeling. If you’re a driver you’ll relate and completely understand. So, pretend you’re driving at 120km/h (60m/h for my American friends – we’re driving stick shift here) on the highway and you’re limited to only being in 4th gear. The car is running, and it’s fine – but the engine is screaming at you. This is how I feel when Tim is away. Handling the kids, routine and running our lives – we’re going, but it takes strain on me emotionally and mentally. But, we’re going. 

16996493_10154985532956322_7432860030529118902_n.jpgThen the moment my husband jumps back into our unit, it’s like I immediately feel our engine changes gear into 5th and I feel a massive sigh of relief and we start to cruise. The car didn’t stop moving, kids didn’t stop playing up, fights didn’t stop, routine is still the same but my team mate is here and the load is lighter and it’s easier to handle.

I hope this metaphor was understood.

I honestly count my blessings and think of every ‘single’ parented home. How you cope, how you stay so strong the way you do is admirable and I take my hat off to you for keeping the car moving and for producing decent human beings at the end of the day. Whether you chose to be in that position or not isn’t the point – its the fact that you are doing it that is amazing.

If you can relate to this feeling or if you know of any single parents that are doing it – please chat to me below and let’s learn from each other. Have an awesome day!

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

4 thoughts on “When Dad gets home: getting back to normal

Leave a Reply

