Posted in A moms opinion, Moments with friends

Saturday morning birthday party

Today I had the pleasure of taking my girls to a family friends’ birthday party. We’ve known this family since before the girls were even thoughts and before we were even married. They’ve been a part of our lives for so many seasons and they would probably also tell you that we have walked a unique road together and have survived as friends. 
Anyway, that’s not why I’m writing this post. I’m writing it because as a mom in the society being built today, I’ve been caught in the trap of trying to “over celebrate” my kids. Now don’t get me wrong – celebrating our children is important to us but I don’t have to be Pinterest princess about. 

Now I’m not judging because I’ve done the themed parties and will probably still do them for my kids (because I have unfortunately set that precedent) but as my kids are getting older I’ve come to realize that that isn’t what they genuinely want anymore. 

I was completely blown away by how simple a party can be and the kids absolutely loved it. Yes, there was admin involved and making sure there were games and prizes but there weren’t copious amounts of sweets or treats or themed party packs and cupcakes.

There wasn’t a “parents” eats table because all of the girls felt safe and the families all know each other and it was a drop and go (I was hanging around because I like to be with people and had asked persmission to be a wall flower for ‘my’ curiosity sake-call me a social butterfly if you will-ha) 

So, here’s a few pics from the party – I didn’t get all of the games – but cutto’s to Gareth and Wendy for making my kids day with “minute to win it” games. 

Happy birthday Gabi! 

 

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

