Posted in A moms opinion, Family memories, Just for Jude

The mosquito stole my sleep

Ok, I’ve never been hungover before but I’m sure it must feel something like this morning. I love summer and all its pleasantries but one thing I can not deal with, is the mosquitoes! Man alive! We sleep with a fan on throughout the night to keep the little pests off us at night but we can’t leave the fan on our kids for too long because it can have the opposite effect and they get head colds and nonsense.


So last night, we had our two year old wake us up because a mozzi was bugging him. He is then placed in our bed because of the fan. As many of you can relate-toddlers don’t exactly sleep straight. So I slept on the little piece of corner that was left to me. Shoo! I honestly hate sleeping like that but it was either that or waking up every ten minutes to kill a mosquito that is hiding like a ninja in his cot somewhere. And why is it that they always come out around 2-3am in the morning? Don’t they know we want to sleep at that time, they can eat at us all day long but NOOOOOOOOO 3am snack it is. Ugh!

To top that off, our girls had the same problem. So at 3am there was furniture being rearranged and powder being sprinkled on everyone’s body’s to ward off the annoying critters. Now understand that we try to steer away from the chemical options of killing the blighters but in moments like these I think I am definitely going to smoke the suckers out of my home. 

So, let Friday begin and let it be known I am dealing with my grumpiness at the door. It’s not going to be easy but for the sake of my immediate family I will lift my frown and proceed with caution. Sigh, muscle up chicka! Your kids need you. 

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

