Posted in Being the wife, Timothy

Turning our home into an extension of my husband

As I sip on a hot cuppa and reflect on the activities of our day, all that I can say is that having my husband working from home really helps me to mentally prepare for what’s coming up on our calendar. I say this because he sat at our dining room table today, with Jason as they planned the upcoming training for their team for the worship school they run as Sounds of the Nations Cape Town

Now obviously I listen in and give my two cents because that’s how we role and it slowly dawns on me that my home is going to slowly re-transform back into the hub of a lot of ministry activity and people being in and out of our space. This means I need to click back into the mode of relaxed hostess and look to enjoying, having the activity in our home. I say this because, it’s really easy to get all snuggly and comfortable with the slick routine I have going with my kids and home – but add extra people into the mix, you have to change your game face for that.

Now, don’t get me wrong – I don’t put on a mask for anyone that comes in and out of my home and they sure as peanuts know it. If I’m not having a good day and the kids are running a muck – everyone that walks into my home will know it’s happening and I will be as gracious as possible not to scare the living daylights out of any newbies. But home is home and when you’re in mine – you’re going to see whats for real. Good and bad.

I said “relaxed hostess” because I find that if I become too clingy to my way of doing things, then people don’t feel at home in my home and I want them to feel welcome (even if there’s chaos happening). Our home has to become an extension of who Tim is to the world. When he’s not around or away on mission trips and stuff – this place becomes a well oiled machine (well, at least I think it is according to my standards – others are slicker than I am) – but I know that when my hubby walks in and brings other people into our space, that machine needs to chill out, keep working – yes – but slow down and enjoy the scenery for a bit.

It’s a great opportunity for my girls to exercise their etiquette, manners and social behaviour with older people other than their immediate family. It’s also a great way for them to see how Dad operates and how to discern how much of yourself you give in a conversation and who you should take a step back from. (because we don’t air our dirty laundry with just anyone – we save that for really close friends who know us) 

So over the next few weeks, we go from having wonderful, family weekends to being an extension of who Tim is and what he is passionate about. We love it and because of our flexible lifestyle – there’s always a great golden moments to teach our children great values, spend necessary time with them and also share our lives with others.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

