Posted in A moms opinion, Aislyn, Being the wife

How I get ready for Monday madness

You know that feeling you get on a Sunday evening? That weight that suddenly presses down on your shoulders (metaphorically of course) – with that Dracula voice that whispers, “the break is almost over, real life is coming tomorrow, are you ready?…..bwoooohaa haa haa haa” If I’m the only one, then I need to talk to someone about this #smileyface. But I’m pretty sure there’s another someone out there feeling the same way. 

Now, there have been Sundays when I have thrown caution to the wind and just decided, “why not leave it to chance and just enjoy the extended break and not think about it” – then Monday hits and it’s absolute chaos in my home and my schedule leaves me grabbing for coffee (I don’t like coffee), shouting at my kids and crabby with Tim about stupid, mundane things. So after many Mondays like this, I decided to take matters into my own hands and see if strategising the day the night before would make it better, and as sure as Bob – it helps. Now, it’s not perfect – but its’ smoother and there’s less collateral damage through out the day. So, here’s what I do to make my Monday easier.

Rest the heck out of Sunday afternoon
We’re a church going family, so we’re up earlier than most to get ready. But after a great service, a family lunch that’s full of great conversation, check all house exits and hazardous materials are put away or out of reach of a two year old boy (this doesn’t always work, but I try) – then it’s time to stretch out like a persian cat on a couch and do absolutely nothing. Stare at the TV screen without any Mommy guilt, watch whatever there is available, sometimes fall asleep (ignoring any “mom” calls) and rest the heck out of that afternoon. I find that if I get this right, I’m set for the next step……

Pack and plan “Everyone’s day/week”
By the time this moment has hit, my hubby and I have fed the kids whatever left overs they’ll consume, bathed them and put them to bed. I then retreat to my little admin corner and start laying out everyone’s days and set out all of the kids school work/activities for the next day.

I’m telling you this from a homeschooling family’s perspective and even then I think that for some-this might be a little ‘highly strung’ for a so called “flexible routine”. (I maintain, that if you want something to grow well, give it a little structure or else you end up with a tangled mess and go nuts) I know that school moms would be packing lunches and packing school bags – that part of me will never die because of my school up bringing. I always check if there’s enough bread for lunch, check my groceries and list what I need to get to make sure that no one goes hungry by 10am.

Then Tim and I compare schedules for the week and make sure that we have don’t miss each other and that the kids are getting enough “Dad” time.

Do something brain dead and chill
After I’ve got all of my ducks in a row, then I can sleep well knowing that whatever hits me tomorrow morning (even if it’s a bad mood) my basic structure of the day is ready and so wherever the chips may fall, I will be able to breathe easy and take it as it hits me without spinning out uncontrollably. So, we like to watch our favourite sitcoms and have a little downtime together before crashing into sleep – whispering prayers like, “Please let the little ones sleep through tonight”

I know that this doesn’t sound like much, but it’s a recipe that works for us. This week is going to be a busy one and it’s going to be interesting to see how a few things pan out. Can I get a #fistpump. Let’s do dis!!

This pic of Aislyn depicts the way I like to think I feel when I’m gearing up for MondaysIMG_1807.JPG

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

