Posted in A moms opinion, Iraina

Selfies can make a day all better

Tuesday turned out to be a spun out Feder family Tuesday for us. Jude deciding to only wake up at 8:15am (when he normally wakes up at 6:30) I expected this to throw a few routine procedures out for the day, but to my surprise it didn’t really. The girls got on with their business and school seemed to flow like a well oiled machine today…… then Jude’s strategic nap didn’t completely last for 2 hours (as it normally does-this time due to a leaking nappy and mess everywhere, sigh) and so we had a 2 year old running around in the middle of a meeting. A meeting that I joined Tim, for creative input – so needless to say, my afternoon kinda spun out from there.

I had forgotten to eat (yes, this happens) and was wondering why I felt tired…… (“maybe grab a sandwich?!!!??” shouts my stomach to my brain) so I rush a basic sandwich and run out the door to take Aislyn to swimming. We drop her off and sit in the parking lot waiting for her to get done and this, was my highlight for the day – Iraina suggests that we take some selfies and play a bit – I had so much fun that its just worth sharing. But before I do, let’s finish the day – shall we.

So after our comical session of selfies, we drive through traffic to gymnastics. The session was interesting, trying to maintain an adult conversation with some mommies while my son jumps around and knocks his head and continuously interferes with the boy gymnast lesson (yay for mom of the year – can’t keep my kid under raps) Then we drive home and I’m psyching myself up to make supper and get the kids to bed only to be reminded, as I get home, that tonight is the night that Tim is out leading the music worship at a church course….. I completely forgot and so I kick into single parent mode and get the kids done.

Then at bedtime my smart little boy, has suddenly realised that due to the attention he received when he was feverish and sore a few nights ago, that he can try and reenact his ailment and whine and call and pretend he’s not well to get more “awake” time and more water, and more….. and more…… after 35minutes I threw in the towel and walked away – explained to him that I’m not playing this game and that he needs to sleep.

He then goes to sleep – after how many minutes of jokingly calling me and talking in his gobble goop language, when I finally ignore him. aaarrrrgh, Sometimes I wonder and the mommy guilt messes with my need to discipline the kid. aahh, the joys of parenting. So now I sit – with a cup of tea in hand and one mouse click away from netflix while I wait for my hubby to get home. The sweet joys of being a mother of three – isn’t weird that even though I find it hard work, I love it at the same time? This parenting thing is something else.

Here are the selfies I promised

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

