Posted in A moms opinion

Saturday’s aren’t what they used to be….

It’s only 12pm and I already feel like my Saturday has hit me in the face and run away. Gone are the days of sleeping in until 10 and having brunch at 11:30. Nope, we were up at the merry hour of 6 this morning and not just because our 2 year old was awake, but because we had to pack up and get to Aislyn’s first gala for the year. Shoo, guys, mornings are not my thang. It literally takes me about 3 hours to warm up and get my brain into gear. So I think that I was semi-present at the gala. Luckily I video taped her races to recap later.


Oh, I’m not the rude type when in public spaces but left in my natural habitat – please leave me alone to pull myself towards myself or suffer the non self controlled wrath of my inner beastly self.

So after having a great morning watching Aislyn swim (said with a tired mommy grin) we were back home and set into chill mode. Now, “chill mode” for a mom isn’t always that easy to just settle into. (Can I get a high five from another parent out there) That precious moment when I finally put my bum down into a chair or onto a bed,…………  “Moooooooooom, can I have a snack?” Or “Mooooooooom she’s hurting me”, “Mooooooooom, why does she have A, B or C”, “mum, mum, mum, marbooo” (Jude code for let’s play marbles) Now, don’t ever get me wrong because I love my kids – but when I can literally feel my body is about to shut down on me automatically because I woke up too early – it literally aches through my bones to muscle up the mental and physical strength to get up and deal with whatever minor tragedy has struck my little troop. And it’s only 11am. Sigh.

All I can say is, 1-I’m thankful for my husband who is going to watch 2 of them while I take the other to a party and 2-I’m also thankful for my mother in law who stayed home with my 2 year old while we went to the gala. Or else this day would have been very, very, very different and I would have felt (and most likely have looked) like my energy had literally been drained from my body leaving a brown corpse to roam the streets with 3 children – zombie style.

Guess who’s looking forward to 8pm tonight, when the sand man makes his rounds and all will be still and quiet again.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

One thought on “Saturday’s aren’t what they used to be….

Leave a Reply

