Posted in A moms opinion, Being the wife, It's a God thing

Who gets a say?

Good morning world! It’s Thursday and that means I’m one more day closer to binge watching Masterchef Australia at my mom’s house, while she has her grandkid fix with my little troop (it’s my treat for the week and what keeps me balanced as a mom – thanks mom).

199517_4884036321_5248_n
2006

As I was wrapping up yesterdays post, I was so tempted to push through and write about what happened following the weeks after I made the move to be my Hubby‘s wing lady. You know, people can be so funny – shame – and I honestly think this marked a moment in my walk as a “leader’s wife”. Tim and I made the call together, for me to step down – me more than him. But you know when you’ve made a decision to do something that you know, that you know, that you know is the right thing and that God was kinda pushing you to do but, you can’t exactly say He wrote it in the sky and lit it on fire? Well that’s how I felt.

But, then comes the, “did He really want you to do that?” voice – or in this case an actual person. Man, as I’m thinking about it – it makes me giggle. I was wanting to join the sound team as a support ministry to Tim, right – but the sound guy felt I could prove myself as a leader and rather focus on the visual lyrics and grow a team there. So, I gladly served and was at the desk every second Sunday morning doing my thang.

One Sunday morning, this sweet couple – bless them – approaches me at the desk and proceed to gently rebuke me about the fact that I shouldn’t be at the desk but be on stage next to my husband. The guy says, “In my worship time this morning, the Lord told me to tell you that you are being disobedient and should be up there with him”…….. now don’t get me wrong, God speaks to everyone but it doesn’t mean it’s always meant to be for me. There I was, this little young wifey staring the gentleman in the face and I honestly didn’t know what to say. It made me feel uncomfortable and defensive – but because I was so stunned I didn’t say anything (Thank goodness because I don’t even want to know what kind of defensive come back could have responded to that) 

So, when I say this marked a moment in my walk as Tim’s wife, it was that moment that made me realise that, as much as everyone sees who we are and may have the very best intentions in their hearts towards us – I need to alway make sure that my source isn’t what people are thinking or expecting of me just because they believe that “God spoke to them” about me. That’s when I knew I had to draw my lines in the sand as to who gets a say and who doesn’t. It’s honestly the hardest circle I’ve had to draw but it has proved to be one of the starting points in our approach to life in general.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

