Posted in A moms opinion, Growing a Baby

34 Weeks and counting

Today marks 8.5months in the road of growing Jude the dude. It’s been harder than any of the other two pregnancies-I think mainly due to the fact that he’s already so big. We weighed in at about 2.2kgs at the last scan and that was a week ago.
Our gynae predicts that he could be a 3.8kg baby at birth but calculation can be wrong and we’ll only know for sure once he’s here.

But I must admit that it has been playing on my mind a bit and my body is starting to take strain now. So trying to tell myself that lying down and resting is a good thing but also getting some exercise into the day also helps. It’s this fine line between over doing it on both sides of the spectrum.

We had our baby shower last week as well and it was really special. There were obviously lots of gifts so we are stocked on toiletries for a year at least.
I still can’t believe that we’re going to have a little boy in our house and just much that could change the environment and dynamic. I really hope he’s a chilled out boy and goes with the flow.

But after this past week I’m not so sure. With both of my girls-they stayed head down throughout the whole pregnancy. But Mr Man in my womb suddenly discovered that there’s room to move around and proceeded to flip around and try all sorts of positions. In the space of 3 days he flipped a wonderful 5 times. It scares me at first but now I’m ok with it due to the fact that I think he always returns to the most comfortable position, which is head down.

My skin feels like it’s coming to its end. The fact that we have another 5 weeks to go before I can even hope to push him out is beyond me. I don’t know where he’s going to find the space? But I guess things like this happen as I’ll just have to wait and see.

I did tell myself that I would write down why I’m not going to do this again and so here it goes-just a few reasons at the moment.
1. My pelvis is sore already and we still have to put on a kg still
2. Taking care of my family, house and schedule is so much harder right now as driving, walking and carrying don’t come easy and have to be thought through very carefully.
3. As much as I absolutely love the feeling of Jude moving around in my womb-there isn’t a lot of space and he is now hurting my ribs and sides.
4. Sleep isn’t as peaceful as it used to be – my hips are getting sore and turning over is such a mission.
5. My appetite has officially been cut in half and my stomach can only hold 1sandwich or bowl of fruit for about 4 hours.
6. Doing any sort of mental work is so draining that I feel slightly handicapped with the fatigue I feel. But this is so minor, but irritating at the same time.
7. There are things that I won’t mention in my nether region that hurt to no end and make walking even more of a chore.

These are what I can think of-other than these my pregnancy has been uneventful and wonderful. The change in diet has been good for my body and I have exercised consistently throughout and I know I’ll reap the rewards later after Jude is out.

Anyway-once I get pics of my shower I will insert them and also get a pic of myself so far.

I love my boy Jude and can’t wait to meet him.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

