Posted in Family memories, Growing a Baby

Nesting and “Jude the Dude”

We’re at the 31 week mark tomorrow and I can’t believe we’re starting to really count down to Jude’s arrival.
There are so many parts of this journey that you forget about. How exciting it all becomes and the last few months before your little human arrives.

At about 6 and a half months I started having that overwhelming feeling of needing to get ready for a new baby in our house. I radically made blinds for our rooms and massive block out curtains for our room-where Jude is going to be with us (because we have 3meter high windows with morning light that streams in like a spot light).

Setting up a little area for him to be in was fun and I am so grateful for Pinterest-it gave me such a great idea. Without spending an enormous amount of money-a switch around of furniture and a screw here or a hook there we have ……..

IMG_7514.JPG

The girls have been especially cute, they give my belly hugs and a kiss every night and Iraina has started calling him , “Jude the dude”.

I was chatting with the girls about what they’re expecting and we got to what he could look like. Their point of view is so child like and always adorable. We went from black to red hair, and eyes like Iraina and dark or light skin. With them talking like this and having Jude grow a lot in my belly, I have suddenly started to wonder what he could really look like and what his personality could be. I’m feeling a little impatient and wanting to see him now, but at the same time I’m overwhelmed by how ready I am for taking care of another little human.

Also it’s the last time we’re going to combine my DNA with Tim’s DNA so the feeling of savouring the moment is the order of the day. But then a part of me wants to make sure that I’m not going to spoil him and be really fair as I’ve tried to be with the girls. There is so much that goes through your emotions and mind at this stage.

I told myself that as much as his is such a wonderful experience, I would remind myself also why this road to birthing a baby is one to not take lightly. At the moment my muscles are straining in my lower abdomen and feel like they’re tearing apart. So it’s hard to get up, lie down and sit up normally. When I read this back to myself one day-I would say to myself, “remember what ‘the pressure’ does at he end of the day?” (You’ll know what I mean)
Meal time is not as satisfying as it used to be. You’re constantly eating but always getting hungry because the meals have to be really small because he’s squished everything to be tennis ball size. When he stretches how my ribs feel like they’re about to break and my pelvis is feeling fragile.
Going to the toilet is also unsatisfying because it’s for really short visits and very often.

Like I said earlier-this is just to remind me why my body is not going to do this again.

Well-here’s to 31weeks and counting.

IMG_7508.JPG

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

