Posted in Growing a Baby

Morning sickness officially sucks!

I know this is meant to be a time of being grateful and enjoying pregnancy but man oh man am I really tired of this morning sickness thing. With the girls I was done at 13 and a half weeks, but this child seems to have a different road laid out for me.

I thought it was my iron level today but after taking the supplement it hasn’t helped one bit and sleeping hasn’t helped either. Every time I eat, it’s filled with a 20 minute decider on what to eat and counting the cost. Thereafter enjoying the 10 minutes of flavours, textures and the beauty of food. But immediately after that satisfied feeling is followed by a swirling sensation in my tummy, and my head starts to cloud over. It’s like I immediately become extremely fatigued and exhausted beyond words. Everytime I am overwhelmed by this feeling. It almost seems unfair because the food tastes so good!

I then go through the roller coaster ride of “is it in my head”, “what did I eat?”, “should I have had less food?”, “why didn’t I feel this while I was eating?”, “should I take drugs-but I don’t want to (argh)”, “why am I so gassy?”, “does google know why?”………. And the mind game goes on while my body bellows with hormones and vitamins travelling to a little being that is growing in my oh so precious womb.

I think what gets to me the most is that I don’t know how long this is going to be going on for. I like to mentally prepare for whatever challenge I lay before myself and this baby has me stretched in every direction with that regard.

Once again, I love this baby a lot but I don’t like what’s happening to my body and coming to terms with that is pushing me to incredible limits.
Well, here’s to the “who knows when it will end nausea”.

Author:

I'm a woman finding my way through life as the wife of Tim, the mother to 3 growing kids and trying to maintain some sort of self through it all.

Leave a Reply

